Civil War Internment Collection

Administrative / Biographical history:

Following the outbreak of civil war in June 1922 the Provisional Government required prisons and camps to house prisoners interned throughout the country. A Prisoners Department was established in the Office of the Adjutant General while military personnel took over the operation of several prisons and established internment camps. These prisons and camps include: Athlone, Beggars Bush in Dublin, Hare Park and Tintown camps in the Curragh, Carlow and Athy, Carrick on Shannon, Cork, Dundalk, Galway, Gormanstown camp, Kilmainham, Kilkenny, Limerick, Maryboro in Portlaoise, Mountjoy, Mullingar, Naas, Navan, Newbridge, North Dublin Union, Portobello now Cathal Brugha Barracks, Sligo, Tipperary, Thurles, Templemore, Trim, Tralee, Wellington, Waterford and Westport. The individual administrative records of many of these prisons and camps are not held in the Military Archives, however there is some material surviving in relation to Mountjoy , Kilmainham, North Dublin Union, Gormanstown Camp, Tintown internment camps, Hare Park camp, Newbridge, Maryboro, Dundalk and Cork.

Scope and Content:

This collection contains material relating to prisoners interned by the National Army during the Civil War. Much of the collection is comprised of administrative material issuing from the Office of the Director of Intelligence and the Prisoners Department.

The collection also contains some administrative and financial paperwork for some of the prisons and camps in use.